Milk cheeses that are not dairy

Updated: Oct 26, 2018

In some cases, people wish to avoid dairy products, but are not vegan. Did you know that some cheeses aren't considered dairy products? You need to look for cheeses made from goat's milk, sheep's or ewe's milk, or buffalo milk. There are quite a few!


For example: Halloumi, real Feta cheese (check the packet ingredients); Manchego; Buffalo Mozzarella; Percorino (you can use this grated like Parmesan) and Roquefort (made from ewe's milk).


Most supermarkets stock a hard goat's cheese that looks like cheddar but tastes a little more sour - but it's great for cooking. You can use it like grated cheddar in cheese sauces and gratin dishes, as well as to substitute cheddar cheese in any recipe.


If you are lactose intolerant, however, it’s a whole different ball game. If you are lactose intolerant you need to look for cheeses which have low lactose levels – check the nutrition label. I found this website that has some useful tips on cheeses with low/hardly any lactose levels.

https://lifehacker.com/the-best-cheeses-to-eat-if-youre-lactose-intolerant-1563386663






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All